Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Sudoku Xtra discussion forums
Back to main Sudoku Xtra site

Advanced

Heyawake

Posted by Christine 
Heyawake
October 14, 2010 08:51PM
This is a puzzle I have never tried before but decided to give it a go. I started by taking myself off to the nikoli website and working my way through the tutorial there (I find it much easier to pick up new rules watching a puzzle being solved than by reading a list of instructions). Anyway, I have got as far as being able to solve some of the easy puzzles, but drew a blank with the harder ones.

Returning to the puzzles in issue 11, apart from the two 4 x 4 boxes bottom left and right (first puzzle) I really don't know where to get started so if anyone had a bit of time to spare it would be great if someone could talk me through the first few moves - maybe I'm missing something blindingly obvious but I can't see how to get in other than by a lot of trial and error which I am sure is not the right idea!! Thanks.
Re: Heyawake
October 14, 2010 10:36PM
I presume you mean 2x2 boxes, and yes those are the easiest bit. winking smiley Both puzzles are a little tricky - it's actually much easier to make easy puzzles so I was pretty pleased with how these came out since I haven't made many Heyawake before (in fact only four ever I think!). The top one with the 2s is probably harder to get going on - you need to realise that the 2 in the middle of the right-hand side must be \ or / so the squares above and below it on the right must be empty. Then try out the combinations with the 2 above it.

On the bottom puzzle, the 4 in the top-right corner can be filled out - can you see how?
October 15, 2010 10:33PM
Yes, I did mean the 2 x 2 boxes - sorry!