Sudoku Xtra discussion forums
Back to main Sudoku Xtra site

Advanced

Competition: "Sampler Platter"

Posted by davmillar 
Competition: "Sampler Platter"
July 26, 2010 04:25PM
Hey everyone!

How many of you are quick solvers? Ever want to enter a sudoku competition?

On 7th and 8th August, Logic Masters India will be having their August Sudoku Test. Augusts test will feature sudoku variants created by me that have up to 6 clue types per puzzle.

If you're interested, head to their site and grab the Instruction Booklet to prepare for this test!

http://logicmastersindia.com/M201008S1/

David
Re: Competition: "Sampler Platter"
July 27, 2010 08:33PM
Hi David

Well I definitely don't think I'm a particurly quick or expert solver, but couldn't resist having a look at your sample platter and I must say, these are really fun little puzzles. Lucky for me I was familiar with all the variations (just not the lot mixed together) and so I was able to solve all the 6 x 6 ones without too much difficulty - I just wouldn't be able to match most people for speed! However I really did enjoy these (and have just noticed the 9 x 9 ones posted on the Griddle so am going to download these in a minute and see how much more difficult they are in a larger grid).

You never know, if it is a rainy weekend and I am stuck indoors I might just have a go (under a very unrecognisable username!!!!) just out of curiosity to see what I could get done in the 100 minutes. Just one question. I much prefer to solve puzzles on paper rather than gaze at a screen continuously (am also a bit quicker with a pencil than a mouse!) Is there any facility for printing off the puzzles and then just typing the numbers in on completion if this is done in the time?

It seems to be a site aimed at finding an indian champion, but presumably all nationalities are welcome to participate?